NEWS ARTICLE LIBERAL ARTS AND COMMUNICATION RECOGNIZES TOP GRADUATES OF 2020

04/14/2020

JONESBORO – This year's most outstanding graduating students in the College of Liberal Arts and Communication were honored with awards during the annual Convocation of Scholars at Arkansas State University, according to Dr. Carl Cates, dean.

The Chancellor's Scholar award was presented to Connor Scroggins, of Malvern, AR, who will graduate in May with a Bachelor of Music degree. The Chancellor's Scholar is the graduating student in the college with the highest cumulative gradepoint average and most credit hours earned at A-State.

Noah Ford, of Searcy, Claire Hulett of Jonesboro, Alyssa Perry of Cabot, along with Scroggins, received the 4.0 Scholar Award. In the event of a tie, the Chancellor's Scholar is the student who has completed the most credit hours.

The award recipients and their respective degree programs are (by academic department):

Art + Design

Kaly Ishee of Pangburn, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Studio Art; Calley Dunnihoo of West Plains, Mo., Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design; Mykala Smith of Pocahontas, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Art Education; Timothy Arquitt of Lake City, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Digital Design.

Communication

Steven Holmquist of Roland and Zoey Smith from Alexander, Bachelor of Arts (BA), communication studies, Shawna Martin of Gasseville, Bachelor of Science (BS), strategic communication, and Abbigail Singer of Kansas City, Mo., BS in Strategic Communication online.

Criminology, Sociology, and Geography

Sydney Morgan of Crossett, BA Criminology; Annica Karlsson of Vantaa, Finland, BA Sociology; Trey Sykes of Little Rock, MA Criminal Justice; and Robert McCord of Jonesboro, MA Sociology.

English, Philosophy and World Languages

Maggie Smith of Gatewood, Mo., and Adrienne LaSage of Benton, Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE), English; Rayna Todd of Camden, BA, English; Kaitlin Fielder of Batesville, BA, philosophy; Alberto Segovia of Dardanelle, BA, Spanish; Jesse Matlock of Malvern, MA, English; and Nicole Johnson of Jonesboro, MSE, English.

History

Nathaniel Grimes from Grapevine, BA, history; Kyle Walker from Jonesboro, BSE, Social Science; and Tara Loperano from Jonesboro, MA, history.

Media

Hope McAlee of McRae, BS, creative media production; Brooke Buckner from Little Rock, BS, multimedia journalism.

Music

Alyssa Perry of Cabot, Bachelor of Music Education (BME), instrumental music, Olivia Adams Sanders of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Music Education (BME), vocal music, and Conner Scroggins of Malvern, Bachelor of Music (BM), composition.

Political Science

Peyton Knight of Hamburg, BA, political science; Emily Noel of Paragould, MA, political science; Ayat Bugshan of Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, Master of Public Administration (MPA); and Lauren Whitby of Scottsdale, Ariz., MPA, online program.

Theatre

Hayley Scott of North Little Rock, Bachelor of Arts (BA) in theatre.

###